Garden Com Post 1 CLOSED

Discussion in 'Chit Chat' started by monica33flowers, Feb 28, 2008.

1. monica33flowers

monica33flowers New Member

Hello all you gardeners! We have an official title and the first edition was closed. Isn't that exciting?

Anyways stop in and tell us if you are having some spring beauties or like me still buried under the snow.
    [This Message was Edited on 03/07/2008]
  2. monica33flowers

Welcome ---- Of course you can stop in and visit and contribute. You don't have to have a garden to participate. I know Snog only has indoor plants and she is also part of the Garden Gang. LOL. Everyone is welcome to come and chat!

I think I will be starting my indoor seeds tomorrow and get a jump start on Mother Nature. At the rate we are going here in WI we won't see spring until May! LOL.
  3. budmickl

budmickl New Member

I live in the KS/MO area and have a question about when to plant tomatoes and strawberries.

I have never tried to grow them before but have decided to try a little garden.

When is the proper time to plant seeds? Or do you suggest using starter plants? (I don't know the correct name).

Will I get fruit the first year from the strawberry vines?

Any suggestions is greatly appreciated!

4. sisland

sisland New Member

We have a Garden Com post 1!

Hi,,,,,,If it were Me i would get the live plants and you will get fruit from the tomatoes the first year,,,,make sure the tomatoe plants have sturdy stocks when you buy them,,,,,,,also healthy leaves,,,,,

if you plant them in the ground you have to wait until all freezing temps have passed,,,,,witch you should be ok in KC,MO,,,,,,by april?

plant them at least 8-10" down and only have about 2" of the stock showing berfore the first leaf,,,,,,,at least this is how i have had good luck with them bareing more fruit,,,,,,

Strawberrys do well in containers too,,,,,if you buy the Really Healthy plants you should get fruit the first year but if not then the second year for sure!