Getting Sicker

Discussion in 'Homebound/Bedbound' started by gb66, Oct 11, 2015.

1. gb66

gb66 Well-Known Member

I'm really getting worried. I started on the abx last Thursday pm and didn't have any fever or other symptoms. I was disgnosed with a bladder infection. In the last 2 days my temp. has been steadily climbing. It's 100.6 right now, and my normal temp. is 97.2. I'm wondering if I have a kidney infection too or if it's a reaction to the abx. Has anyone had a similar experience? GB
  2. rockgor

rockgor Well-Known Member

Hi GB
    Sorry to hear the bad news. I have no experience or info pertaining to this problem.
    Hope you make a quick recovery.

Hugs
    Rock
  3. ConfusedInPA

ConfusedInPA Well-Known Member

Dear GB,

I, too, have no personal experience to share.

But I have some "observations/questions"....

Did you give a urine sample, for culture? And that's how they diagnosed a bladder infection?

Perhaps another ABX would work better?

Do they know if it's bacterial or viral?? I know when I had pneumonia, the ABX did nothing for me, it was viral pneumonia.

The only thing I can say for sure, and most docs don't, is TAKE a PROBIOTIC -- hours away from your dose of ABX. Probiotics replenish the good bacteria.

I don't know if you're possibly killing off bad bacteria, with your ABX, and possibly herxing. I don't know if that would spike a fever.

Do you have a walk-in clinic, like a Walgreen's pharmacy, nearby that you can go to????

I don't know what else to say. Except that you are in my thoughts and prayers. And wishes for a speedy recovery!!!!!!!

Please keep us updated! Worried about you, my friend.

Love, Diane
  4. hangininthere

hangininthere Well-Known Member

My hub has a bad side effect of fever and rash from Bactrim and Keflex, so I keep him off of it, and list it as an allergy. He gets very hot to the touch on the first day. It's listed as a side-effect on the Bactrim and Keflex drug brochures or online.