getting worse and need advice

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by lizritchey, Mar 16, 2006.

1. lizritchey

lizritchey New Member

I know this is really long, but I hope someone can help me. I was diagnosed with FMS over 10 yrs ago. I also have cervical disk disease (C6 & 7 fused) and a leaky mitral valve. For the past 2 years my symptoms have really gotten worse with some additional ones cropping up (Exhaustion, h. Pylori, EBV HHV 1 & 2 with frequent outbreaks (didn't know I had either until 2 years ago), skin problems, gall bladder problems, chemical sensitivities). I think my immune system is becoming more and more disfunctional. The only thing that keeps me from going crazy is Ultram, Soma and Lunesta but I don't want to keep taking drugs, I want to feel better. I'm a stay at home student/mom now and I'm afraid I'll be too sick to work when I finish school in a year. I'm pretty sure I couldn't handle it now.

Anyway, I only get to the U.S. once a year so I've made an appt. with an M.D. that my brother sees. She tests for heavy metals and uses herbs and other alternative treatments. She helped him with Lupus-like symptoms. I'm also going to see a dermatologist because this skin thing is getting worse.

Finally to get to my questions, I'm wondering if allergy testing is worth the $$. We're already going to be spending about a $1,000 on Dr. visits and our deductable is $1500. Maybe I should just get tested for environmental allergens? Everything I read says allergy testing isn't realiable. I've made a couple attempts at elimination dieting but got sick once and gave up once. Maybe I just don't know how to do it correctly.

Should I have them test me for other viral infections? Would it help to know if I had them?

Has anyone had success with treatment based on allergy tests or elimination dieting? Do you feel better because of having done it? I'm already underweight, so the elimination diet is really tough on me.