Giving up the smokes...need support and prayers!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by sumbuni, Aug 25, 2003.

1. sumbuni

sumbuni New Member

Well, I started to the smoking cessation classes last week. Tomorrow is the day we give up the smokes. In a way I hate it, because I do enjoy my coffe and my smokes...I've been smoking for 36 years, and have tried everything else to give them up, but they are like old friends and I just wish they weren't so BAD for me! They cling to me and they keep coming back. And I miss them so when they aren't around!

I left my husband because he was destroying me...I loved him so very much, and I can't imagine even 2 1/2 years later that I can live without him, but leave I did...and gone I've stayed...and I need this attitude toward my smokes.

I'm going for a new life style, and a new life. It doesn't include poison relationships, and my smokes are just that, too!

Please, pray for me, and tell me how I can leave this old life long friend behind!!!

Sumbuni (going for the Gold!!)
  2. tansy

tansy New Member

I wish you well. Hopefully you'll get good advice.

Bear in mind that we tend to be low on seratonin and nicotine replaces it, that's why smokes are so difficult to give up. 5htp and some foods help increase seratonin and I've posted on those recently, it may help.

Recently 3 female friends gave up smoking together, they found patches and other nicotine replacements smoothed the ride. So far so good.

Love

Tansy
    [This Message was Edited on 08/25/2003]
  3. jkd7058

jkd7058 New Member

If you can give up that poisonous relationship you can give up those poisonous cigs! You CAN do it and we are behind you 100%

Keep us up-to-date on your progress!!
  4. MJJBunny

MJJBunny New Member

My son smoked constantly. When he finally made up his mind to stop, he started using the patches and he followed the step down program that goes with it.