glucosomine

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by kimfibro, Nov 26, 2005.

1. kimfibro

kimfibro New Member

does anyone take glucosomine?? my doctor told me to start taking it for fibromyalgia. she said she takes it daily for a sore knee and it works very well for her.

just wondering....i haven't seen it mentioned anywhere here but i am a newbie!
  2. foxglove9922

foxglove9922 New Member

Yes I take a combination glucosamine/chrondrotin that has significantly helped the joint pain I have in my hip.

Since it hadn't acted up for quite awhile I went off it for 9 days when I found myself in the most horrible hip/joint pain ever,,,,,couldn't even get around without a cane.

Now I'm back on and have no more pain.

best wishes........foxglove
  3. AnneTheresa

AnneTheresa Member

I take glucosomine sulfate and have for years. It does seem to help. I tried going without it for a few weeks and - oh my - the pain and stiffness got much worse. So I take it faithfully now. It's not a cure-all by any means but it does makes a difference to me.

I take the maximum dose these days but when I was heavier (I used to weigh 200 lbs., I'm 170 lbs now) I used to take more than the maximum dose as listed on the bottle (I took 4 500 mg. pills instead of 3). My doctor told me larger people need more than the recommended maximum dose as it is effective in relation to body-size.

Regards, Anne Theresa
  4. kimfibro

kimfibro New Member

regarding your hip pain: is it hip pain as in tender points/pressure points in fibromyalgia or is it strictly arthritis or injury related? i ask because you say "hip" and not "hips" which is a major tender point in fibro...

so glad this works for you! i hope i'll be as lucky. i have aches and pains in muscle and joints all over, usually. of course some days are so much better than others and SO weather related for me here in new england.

hope you're having a painfree day!
  5. tansy

tansy New Member