Got My SSI Approval in 33 Days!!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by kiwi47, Oct 2, 2002.

1. kiwi47

kiwi47 New Member

Greetings to everyone.......

I applied for SSI benefits in late August of this year. 33 days later I received a letter stating that I had been approved. I believe it was nothing short of a miracle, but also need to tell others a couple of things that I'm certain, helped my case.
    I have both CFIDS & Fibromyalgia.......going on 8 years now. I studied up on all the written material I could find online regarding disability and learned a lot. This may not help everyone, but if it only helps 1 person I will be happy.

1. My handwriting was not neat and tidy..... I have osteo arthritis which helped, in this case.
    2. I had forgotten so much regarding dates, etc.,.... so MANY of my answers were, "I cannot remember."
    3. My Rheumatologist had written me a letter of disability and I pretty much used the same wording as he did on his letter.

I also have osteoperosis which probably helped.

I am married but separated from my husband and living with my daughter, AND NOT receiving financial support from him!!

Hope this helps someone out there.

PS: I also have depression ( who doesn't with these illnesses??) and had been seeing a shrink ( no disrespect,...just can't spell pschy....) Also had been hospitalized in the pschy ward for 3 days due to thoughts of suicide.) I'm sure that also helped my case.

God Bless,
    nanak
    [This Message was Edited on 10/02/2002]
  2. kiwi47

kiwi47 New Member

Greetings to everyone.......

I applied for SSI benefits in late August of this year. 33 days later I received a letter stating that I had been approved. I believe it was nothing short of a miracle, but also need to tell others a couple of things that I'm certain, helped my case.