H1N1 vaccine

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Hawkeye, Oct 22, 2009.

1. Hawkeye

Hawkeye New Member

I am a x-ray tech who works in a very busy family practice clinic so when the H1N1 vaccine became available for us I went ahead and got the shot I get the seasonal flu shot every year with no problems. Well I got the shot last Friday and today is day 6 and I am in quite possibly the worst flare I have every experienced in my entire life. Has anyone else experienced this? I hate to think it was that shot but it is the only thing different and I have never felt this rough before. I can not even bend my fingers, the pain is unrelenting in all of my joints every single one of them. I am starting a prednisone dose pack tomorrow hopefully that will give me some relief......any ideas??

2. Hawkeye

Hawkeye New Member

Thanks....I wish I would have read up on this before I got it.
  3. SnooZQ

SnooZQ New Member

One of the reasons why I don't get flu vacc is that they cause me to flare for extended periods of time. This even occurred when I was a child -- before I ever had a fibro dx -- I'm 55 yo.

I have autoimmune dx beyond fibro & I think that the ajuvant, as well as the antigens in the vaccs cause my immune system to go into hyperdrive, which in turn causes me to flare.

Get extra rest ... take care. I hope the pred does the trick for you.
  4. spacee

spacee Member

I have read Dr. Cheney's site where he says that he has never had a patient get terribly sick or die from the flu. He thinks it is from the upregulated immune system. (By terribly sick, I think he means have to be hospitalized.

And he says that he has had patients have flares that can last days or months from the vaccines.