Has anyone else had a C4a level this high?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by QuantumKitten, Oct 9, 2008.

1. QuantumKitten

QuantumKitten New Member

I just got back some lab test results, but haven't yet met with my doctor to discuss them. I'm a little bit freaked out by the results of the C4a/C3a tests, so I figured I'd post here, where many of you seem knowledgeable about these things. I'm fairly new to the realm of neurotoxins/Dr. Shoemaker's theories, but have suffered with severe chronic fatigue and myriad other symptoms for 10 years, and have recently come to suspect mold exposure as the primary cause.

The C4a Level/C3a Complement Protein tests were processed at National Jewish Hospital via LabCorp. My C3a level was right in the middle of the normal range at 428 (reference interval 0 - 940), but my C4a was a whopping 64740 (reference interval 0 - 2830). Eek. Has anyone else here tested this high? From what I've read online, elevated C4a and normal C3a would seem to indicate mold exposure. I'm guessing I've been tested for lupus in the past (so many tests, don't remember for certain), and I know my Lyme tests came back negative, although I did test positive for Bartonella.

So, can anyone reassure me that I'm not the only one to have a C4a level this elevated? Is there anything other than mold or lupus that could be indicated by these results? I don't have Dr. Shoemaker's book yet, and had never even heard of C4a/C3a until I got my lab results today, so I know virtually nothing about the subject at this point.

I also have the results of my HLA DRB, DQB Typing lab tests, if they would shed any further light on things. I have no idea how to interpret them, but I gather that Dr. Shoemaker's book is required. Finally, I'll just mention that I've done 5 VCS tests so far, the results of which were: negative, positive, positive, negative, negative.

Thanks in advance for any feedback you can offer.
  2. richvank

richvank New Member