Has anyone used Ambien long term?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by starstella, Jan 4, 2003.

1. starstella

starstella New Member

I have been using Ambien for about 2 years now for sleep. I still wake up during the night, but can get back to sleep easier. I know the manufacturer says only use short term; I'm not sure if that warning is there because of possible dependency or problems with sleep cycle.

Personnaly, I don't care if I've become dependent on it, I'm dependent on my Verapamil for my heart arrythmias also so what is the difference? But I do wonder if my sleep is less restful as a result of the long term use of the Ambien.

I've been recently started on Klonopin because of severe twitching in my sleep. If I take more than a .25 (1/2) tab I'm too drugged up the next day. Between the Verapamil and the Klonopin, I sure get some wild dreams--that sure dosent help the sleep problem either.

Anyway, I wonder if anyone else has used the Ambien for a long time and how it has affected you.

I do plan on trying the ZMA that the moderators suggest.
  2. Bunnylover

Bunnylover New Member

Hi, I've used ambien for almost 3 yrs and at first I only took it when I would desparately need to sleep. I talked with my Dr. about it and getting where I needed it and he said so what. There are people who can't sleep due to chemical imbalance and if it helps,take it and thats what I do. I have anxiety attacks and take ativan for that. I used to feel bad about taking all these drugs but if I hurt and need them it's just like people who have diabetes and they take insulin. We don't have to tell anyone what we take and no reason to be ashamed. I'm not an addict just someone who is ill. Hope this helps. Terri
  3. 1maqt

1maqt New Member

Have just started using Ambien, works great. I take neuronton,9 for the spasms twitching etc., and Doxepin for (sleep/depression)Soma, for muscle relaxer.

Using the right combination of meds also helps with sleep.