Have a question regarding high cholesterol

Discussion in 'General Health & Wellness' started by sunflowergirl, Aug 6, 2004.

1. sunflowergirl

sunflowergirl Active Member

Does anyone know of a natural way to reduce cholesterol? My son-in-law has hit 275, was given meds. but would like to do it naturally. I know nothing about cholesterol.
  2. lupelady

lupelady New Member

Hi, Sunflowergirl. I'm a nurse with fibro who has done a lot of study on nutrition and it's effect on health. Diet and exercise are the only effective natural ways I know of to reduce cholesterol. Diet should be low-fat with no red meat. There are lots of low-fat or fat-free substitutes out there these days for things like eggs, cheese, dairy products, etc. You have to read labels carefully when shopping to make sure food items are low in fat and cholesterol. investing in a cookbook for low-fat diets is a good idea as well. Low-fat diets don't have to be dull and boring. there are some good books out there with great ideas for tasty meals and snacks. Exercise doesn't have to be strenuous--walking is great and anyone can do it. And you can gradually increase the length and speed of walking to gain more benefit. With that said, it's important to realize that high cholesterol needs to be reduced quickly to avoid possible serious problems such as stroke or heart attack. I'd advise taking the medication, along with the diet and exercise until his cholesterol is below 200. Some people continue to have higher than normal cholesterol levels even after altering their lifestyles. The diet and exercise thing will need to be a life-long commitment. Your son-in-law will find this not only helps to reduce his cholesterol but will help with other potential health problems as well. Education will be his best defense. good luck to him!
    Lupelady
  3. kimkane

kimkane New Member

I WAS ON LIPITOR. A NATURAL WAY TO GO IS FISH OIL CAPS.

HE ALSO HAS TO WATCH THE FOODS HE EATS.

I WISH HIM LUCK, KIM.