Having a bad time

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by coyote, Jun 29, 2003.

1. coyote

coyote New Member

As I've mentioned before, I am a travelling art teacher. I carry my art supplies to six schools, and do art on a cart.
    By the end of the year, I'm pretty exhausted. I thought I'd spend the summer trying to recuperate: a little exercise, reasonable sleeping hours, vitamins, supplements,
    etc.

last week, I took a course, to keep up certification. It ran from 8 a.m. to 3:30 in the afternoon. It was a half hour drive from my house....required getting up much earlier than usual (have always been a night person), and sitting in the classroon for 8 and 1/2 hours with breaks. I kept getting up and moving around, standing up for awhile...thought I would be ok.

Not. I can't remember feeling so exhausted ever, sleeping endless hours of poor quality sleep...waking up, and waking up, you know the story. Feel sick, you know, the mailaise after overdoing it. Can hardly get up to move from room to room today.

They say this isn't progressive but, boy, I can't remember being so sick with this....and didn't think I was overdoing that much. Of course, it feels like it will never go away.

I have new sympathy for those who are more severly affected by this damn thing. Excuse my language, please.
  2. jacqui_k

jacqui_k New Member

I am not sure that this is true, but I was thinking that maybe age could play a factor in this illness, you know like when we we're in our teens or early twenties we could do an all-nighter clubbing etc, and get ready for work as if nothing was wrong, then when we reach late twenties , early thirties.......all-nighters are a possibility, but getting harder to bounce back from......and then when you reach your mid thirties you ask yourself is it really worth it....lol
    Was just toying with the idea that it could be sort of a stamina thing, harder to cope as we get on.......or as the number of years we've been ill gets higher.