Health Insurance

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by taxchickdla, Nov 17, 2005.

1. taxchickdla

taxchickdla New Member

Hi, I'm new to this sight. I am very frustrated right now. I was diagnosed in 2003 and have had to quit my full time job to "reduce stress" if there is such a thing. Anyway, now I'm self-employed and recently my husband and I applied for insurance. He was accepted, I was denied. I have only seen my Dr. twice in the last year, and I am currently only taking elavil 25mg per day and over the conter pain meds. So anyway, i'm only 32 and still pretty healthy, I think. Do you know of a way to get insurance? Blue Cross told me this disease is more dibilitating than rhuematoid arthritis and that's why I am uninsurable. Any advice would be greatly appreciated. I am becoming more and more frustrated with this whole fibro thing and how its messin with my life. I guess I'm in that pity party stage. How do I get passed it. Denial didnt last long enough. Thanks
  2. PVLady

PVLady New Member

I know how strict health insurance carriers are. Many people only work just to get coverage. I am also self employed and the only way I was able to get coverage was through Cobra from my husband's last employer, then I converted to HIPPA and am on Blue Cross PPO.

My monthly premium is over $600.00
    with a annual ded. of $1,500. - otherwise I was also declined. I was only taking one prescription and no diagnosis of fibro on record.

Hopefully someone here will have a suggestion for you.

3. taxchickdla

taxchickdla New Member