Hello Everyone....I'm new here!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by dawnie1960, Feb 25, 2003.

1. dawnie1960

dawnie1960 New Member

Hello to all! This is my first time posting, but I have been reading the posts for a few weeks now.

And, I must say, I am absolutely amazed at some of the comments on this board! It's like you're talking about me!! For 15 years I have been sick and tired of being sick and tired!!

Doctor after doctor, test after test...this hurts, that feels bad, etc. Finally, after doing my own research on the internet I came up with MS as my problem. I wrote down all of my symptoms and went to my family doc. I insisted on an MRI and she agreed. I think she was pretty shocked to see all my symptoms on paper like that. This was last May.

She referred me to a Neurologist. Couldn't get to see him until October! Was able to get all the testing done that week, but couldn't see him again until early this month.

I was relived to know it wasn't MS but good ole fibro. He mentioned fibro at my first appointment with him. I'd never heard of it. So I looked it up on computer.

I was truly shocked to see ALL of my symptoms as being Fibro! The more I read the more convinced I was that this was my problem. Neuro confirmed it. What a relief to finally know I wasn't crazy or a hypocondriac!!

The amazing part is how you all describe your symptoms...such as: "feel like being beat up with a bat" and when typing have "dyslexic" fingers...I say that too!

My most major problem is suffering from idiopathic angioedema/urticaria. That started in 1996, but I had itchy skin for years before that(feels like little bugs crawling under my skin) Then the hives put me in the hospital twice last week. Nothing seemed to work for me, I tried all the anithistamines...I took more than 20 one day and it still did not relive the intense itch.