hello-from a first timer who's already got questions...

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by teknival, Aug 25, 2002.

1. teknival

teknival New Member

It's my first time here and I think it's lovely how much support people give each other on this site. It's so what we need, people being horrible to me just intensifies the pain even more.
    I'm sorry if you've discussed this all before but was wondering if any of you have tried these or other methods for dealing with fibromyalgia and if they have worked for me:
    Acupuncture has really done a lot of good for me. It stopped my sympmtoms getting worse and worse which they were doing, and even helped the side effects of my painkillers. It is even gradually improving the condition, although it is a slow process, the benefits are brilliant. I don't know for sure if it will get rid of it completely or not. I had to find the right acupuncturist which had been studying it full time for three years unlike my first one who had studied half the time and just wasn't anywhere near as good (and was a bit more painful- the one i have now is basically painless the needles can be as thin as you like, the thinner they are the less likely they'll cause even the tiniest bit of pain)
    been doing the fibromyalgia weekly plans with dr.selfridge's book 'the five week plan to heal fibromylagia, i thought it was worth a try and it has done some good, like joy's advice about journaling and even taking it further than joy said. i've been getting lots of fibromyalgia books from the library, ordering them from other libraries and they've been doing good. I thought they wouldn't as my fibro started with physical injury but i'll try just about anything.
    Found so many relaxation exercises etc help lessen the pain a lot too, and love the self-help tapes,i can't get enough of them-even if they just make me fall asleep, the relaxtion really helps.