Hello, i'm a new member, real glad i found this site

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Bronagh, Aug 16, 2005.

1. Bronagh

Bronagh New Member

Hi everyone,

My name is Bronagh, i'm thrilled i came accross this site.

My story is very long, after this introduction i will send in another post about myself later in the day.I will briefly fill you in on some details and hope you will identify with me.I will be 55 next month and i've been turned down for Disability.I have only claimed Disability once in my 30 years of work,years ago, i claimed for 5 weeks and was sent before a Social Security Assessor who found me fit to work!!!!!!!!!History repeating itself.

I was diagnosed by my Dr years ago that i had Fibrositis, i also started with my back problem at the time but had to keep working because my husband got throat cancer and had to have a Laryngectomy age 31, i had two young sons at the time. I am a Hairdresser by trade.During those years i learned to ignore pain, i worked with the help of meds.

The years have taken their toll on me and i now have numerous problems.

Arthritis.
    Degenerative Disc in L4-L5, mild Scoliosis mid lumbar spine.
    Irritable Bowel.
    Esophageal Reflux Disease, had Gastroscopy done 3 times, nothing showed.
    Bladder painful spasms pit of my stomach, unable to pass much urine at times, had an Ultrasound done, nothing showed.
    Constant burning pain under left ribcage, no answer for this problem.
    High Cholesterol.
    Swelling with pins needles in lower legs.
    Pre Diabetes, not on meds, trying to sort it out with my diet.

I have all of the other symptoms that go with Fibromyalgia.

My Dr is not always supportive although she gave me a great supportive letter for the medical assessor, he assessed me in 3 minutes, didnt ask any questions about my back problem or anything else, i have come to the conclusion that i LOOK TOO HEALTHY:)

I'm 55 and expected to be able to work with my problems, there is no justice.