HELP Another kidney stone??

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by mrsjethro, May 20, 2006.

1. mrsjethro

mrsjethro New Member

First question - do all of the lovely "other perks" that go along with fm ever taper off for a while? I'm really new to all of this - as far as knowing what I've actually got now, and it just seems like it keeps on hammering me.
    Late Friday afternoon I started having really bad sharp pains in my right abdominal area and minor pain in the kidney area and all of the wonderful "sensations" that go along with a urinary tract infection. I've had lithotripsy to bust the stones in my kidney up twice already. Once about 5 years ago and then again about two years ago and this time it's kicking my butt. Thankfully I keep cystex and macrobid on hand. They said they still found gravel in my last specimen about 2 weeks ago, so I'm hoping that maybe it's just a larger piece that's passing and will come on out of there. Last time it got stuck and they had to go up in there and get it (OUCH). God blessed me with 2 tubes on that side running from the kidney to the bladder, so at least I've got a built in bypass. Any ideas on what other things I can do to ease it up??? I'm drinking lots of water and cranberry juice too. I'm really uncomfortable and I don't know what else to try.
  2. marilynb

marilynb New Member

I'm so sorry you are going through this. I know all too well about the pain from kidney stones. I passed my first one at 17 & my last one last year at 52. According to my xrays, that was my last one. Sure hope I don't make anymore. I have also had 2 lithos. My pieces that were left always grew bigger, which always caused a problem.