Help! Does my teen have CFS?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by teacozy, Feb 4, 2003.

1. teacozy

teacozy New Member

Hi everyone! I'm new to this and I'm desperately looking for answers for my 15 yr old daughter. We have a long history of autoimmune diseases in my family going back 5 generations. I myself have Sjogren's Syndrome.

Last month my daughter had a mild viral illness. Since then she has been experiencing fatigue, joint pain, headaches, dizziness. Her pediatrician ran blood tests for mono and immune diseases and all was normal. She has had a low positive ANA titer in the past. The doc thinks she is depressed (she has a history of depression) and the symptoms are related to that and the fact that she is overweight. I see the logic in this but my instincts are that depression isn't the problem.
    What if I am wrong? What if the doc is wrong? Where do I even begin?
    Thanks for listening!
  2. PatPalmer

PatPalmer New Member

Thanks Nink.

Welcome to the board, you will get loads of help and support here, everyone`s great, so please ask all the questions you want. I just wish i`d had access to the internet 4 yrs ago, and knew then what I know now.

I understand exactly what it`s like, not knowing where to go or what to do, it`s not having any answers from the medical profession that`s frustrating, they`re absolutely useless in this field. I will try and give you a couple of links to read. Not skilled yet so may not work, but promise to keep in touch anyway.

What`s happened is that she is obviously predispisioned to having ME because of your family history, depression can be a hormone/genetic thing too.
    My guess is that like my daughter who had numerous viral infections of the ear, throat and colds to boot, was helped along with antibiotics (TROUBLE). Is that they kill off all the GOOD bacteria and have left her already burdoned immune system totally depleted !!