help for weak knees

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by YvonneM, Sep 15, 2006.

1. YvonneM

YvonneM New Member

any one suffer weak knees ? any suggestions on what works? I am a play therapist for medically fragile babies, and it is hard to get up and down with these little ones.
  2. sues1

sues1 New Member

Bumping for someone to see that can help. Susan
  3. kat2002

kat2002 New Member

I constantly deal with weak knees. The best thing I ever did was to get physical therapy. The therapist taught me exercises that I can do at home, plus gave me advice on a lot of good things, like better shoes to wear for my particular problem.

Hope this is helpful,
    Kat
  4. xchocoholic

xchocoholic New Member

Mine have been a problem since getting sick. I found that the more I excercise them the better they feel.

I was given a list of excercises to do, but I only remember a few -

Sit on the floor with one leg out in front. Tighten your outstretched leg. You should see your knee cap move. Do slowly and repeat several times. Then do the other knee.

Also, going up and down stairs is good for strenghtening your knees.

Slightly squating is good too.

Hope this helps. xchocoholic
  5. Daisys

Daisys Member

My knees were getting very weak and hurt a lot. I started using glucosamine and chondroitin and noticed a marked improvement. These supplements help rebuild the lining in the joint.

Later I started taking Sam-E (for it's mood stablyzing effect) and it does the same thing. So I dropped the other 2. It's been a few years now that I can use my knees without the pain and weakness that I had before.

Exercise is important, but if the problem is in the joint, it's too painful to exercise. So, if that's your case, maybe trying one of these joint supplements will help you.
  6. minkanyrose

minkanyrose New Member