HELP muscle DETERIORATING

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by 30feeling80, Feb 20, 2007.

1. 30feeling80

30feeling80 New Member

Please help me.

My right thigh has hurt since October. I feel a hard pinching and plucking between my knee and hip. My doctors have noticed a dip where my thigh is actually concave on the top and side.

We measured. I have lost over 3 and 1/4 inches in that thigh alone since October!!! (no loss on the left thigh) My pants even fit weird.

At rest, usually while sleeping, pain is a 10. Feels very much like my leg is being held against a hot iron or flame, actually makes me scream out loud until I can shove the covers into my mouth. Absolutely NOTHING controls the pain.

Doctors insist it's nothing more than Fibromyalgia. Muscle enzymes were normal, ANA negative. They don't know what to do. Just 'ride this one out', 'give it rest and let it re-generate'.

I've been managing symptoms for more than 6 years. Not willing to let this go. I'm worried it may chew on some more important muscles, i.e. the heart...

ANY ideas, prayers, leads, would be VERY much appreciated.

Thanks!
    Darlene
  2. jole

jole Member

Hi there! Do you have back pain? The only thing I can think of that would cause such a drastic atrophy would be a pinched nerve in the back caused by a bulging disk. IF it is atrophy, it will not regenerate, and you will always have the weakness/loss in that leg. I would certainly keep trying to find an answer to this one.
  3. butterfly8

butterfly8 New Member

I would tentatively suggest that you get a chiropractor to look at it.

Please ensure that they take exrays first and get a chiro who knows about fm.

Doctors say 'just ride it out' but they do not go home with you and do not have to manage during the night like you have to.