Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by edward411, Jun 30, 2008.

1. edward411

edward411 New Member

My name is Edward, but my friends call me Fast Eddie. The nickname comes from my younger days when I pursued life fast and loose. That is not the case anymore. I went thru chemo and radiation for cancer a few years ago. The cancer is gone but my life and health are far from back to normal. I have no strength and my body does not seem to want to cooperate anymore. The doctors are of no us and think that it is all in my head. Came across this site and wonder if anyone can help.
  2. texangal81

texangal81 New Member

I'm fairly knew (just diagnosed with FM) but I say keep looking for a sympathetic doctor. Read these boards, you'll find a lot of good advice (remember, though, we aren't doctors).

I've decided to try a lot of alternative options, but I'm still learning and trust me, it is hard.

Welcome, sorry you have to be here, but glad you found us.

3. poets

poets Member

Hi and welcome to the boards. You'll find a lot of useful information here and some wonderful people. Sorry to hear of all you've been through and I hope you can find some help. Stay with us. You'll be glad you did!

4. JewelRA

JewelRA New Member

Have you been diagnosed with fibromyalgia or chronic fatigue syndrome, or are you just doing your homework? I was on these boards for a while before being diagnosed.

I think that many cancer patients who have undergone chemo end up with long-lasting effects from their treatment. This is very unfortunate, and not frequently talked about by doctors. I have been doing some reading lately about "chemo brain", which is a cognitive deficit from chemo which can persist for years after a patient is in remission from cancer!