Herxes vs. side effects.

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by gapsych, Oct 7, 2008.

1. gapsych

gapsych New Member

I just read that someone took the MMS and became very sick and how many have a herx from medications.

How do you know if it is a herx or just side effects from the medication?

Does a herx produce different symptoms than side effects?

Thanks in advance.
  2. lpn9999

lpn9999 New Member

I'm not an expert, but since no one else has taken a crack at it, I'll give you the simplified version that I understand.

Let's say you had Lyme, and the main symptom was pain and arthritis in your left knee. For this, you take an antibiotic that can give you a stomach ache or cause a rash.

Herx reactions are caused by the Lyme bacteria dying off and releasing toxins. Where the bacteria are most concentrated, more toxins will be released. So, if the reaction you get is increased pain in your knee, it is probably herxing. If it is your stomach or a rash, it's probably the abx.

Obviously, in real life, it's much more complicated and there's more overlap in symptoms. That's where I call the nurse, and thankfully she seems to make the right call. Now maybe someone else can chime in with something more definitive.

(who is new to this)

3. Mikie

Mikie Moderator

ABX can cause side effects and Herxing. Herxing is not really a side effect so much as the body's reaction to a major dieoff of bacteria. If the body cannot excrete the dead pathogens before they become toxic, the body can produce nausea, profuse sweating, and diarrhea to flush out the toxins. Herxing and/or side effects can cause flaring, which can produce pain but the pain itself is not part of Herxing. Rashes, labored breathing, stomach problems, etc. are side effects of ABX. I know this can be confusing. Sometimes, Herxing is confused for a side effect or allergic reaction.

Hope this helps.

Love, Mikie
  4. gapsych

gapsych New Member

Thank you for your imput.