Hi All- new here!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by cbyars, Oct 20, 2008.

1. cbyars

cbyars New Member

I've posted on the RA board a couple of times, but this is the first time here. I'm new to all of this. I first started experiencing joint pain about 4 months, but once it came, it never left. I'm 24, generally healthy, with 2 small children (3 yrs and 6 months) and an elementary teacher. I've always been a very active person; I stay busy and like to stay productive. This has been an awful hit, as it directly affects who I am.
    I had my first rheumatologist appointment, and we're looking at 3 possibilites: RA, psoriatic arthritis, and fibromyalgia. Fibromyalgia seems to be the most likely, as neither my bloodwork nor physical exam indicate that there is any inflammation. After reading the information that my rheumy gave me about FM, it sounds a lot like what I am experiencing. She is running one more blood test, and we are doing xrays. Our next step will be an MRI. She suggested a trial run of prednisone, with the thinking that if it helps, that indicates inflammation. However, I am exclusively breastfeeding, and cannot take steroids. Breastfeeding also eliminates any other pain management options, according to her.
    Anyone else have similar experience with diagnosis? What do I so while waiting-any suggestions for pain management without prescription drugs?
  2. bre_ann

bre_ann New Member