Hi Everybody Im new to this site

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by SummerWind38, Aug 20, 2005.

1. SummerWind38

SummerWind38 New Member

Hi Everybody as usual I was up late not sleeping I came across this message board I was so happy to find others like myself who know what it feels like to live with pain...I'm Robyn I live In Ft Myers Beach Florida I have have had fibromyalgia for 25 years. I will be 40 in Sept. I always like feel like im 80.

.It took years and several Dr's to get diagnosed. I knew what I had from reading & research I worked as a Medical Assistant til I got so bad I couldnt continue to work ..All Dr's didnt want to hear that I knew what I had, I guess it threatned them. Most of told me it was in my head And get on with my life How do you do that? when things people take for granted Like taking a shower,cooking even walking out to get the mail gets you so out of breath.

After awhile of not getting anyone to believe me I was starting to believe it was in my head. When I lived In Connecticut and the first sympoms were setting in My mom dragged me to every Dr. She thought might be able to help me.. Back then(1980) this disease was unheard of no Dr. knew what is was, especially didnt know how to go about treating it.

Also Dr's don't like to admit they don't know what is wrong with you .. They will just say its in your head and suck it up and move on with your life easier sad than done.

So my mom tried every referral went to all kinds of Dr's just hoping to find some kind of relief. After a million tests EMG's, nerve blocks, etc. pain doesnt show up in blood tests or on a Xray its just so frustrating .. I was living In Connecticut at the time and I was so miserable in the bone chilling cold ..The Rheumatologist I finally found told me I had to get out of the cold if I didnt want to end up in a wheelchair.