hi everyone i am a newbie,please give me advice...

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by tadah, Apr 6, 2006.

1. tadah

tadah New Member

i am about to be diagnosed,but have been going through this for about 1 year and it has gotten much much worse..I am only 36 and scared to death that i was just basically given a death sentence,i am really scared that my life is over.also i have never even heard of cfs or fm until a month or so ago.i am gaining all kinds of weight is that normal? i know most of you hear this sob story all of the time but i am lost and sooo not educated on this at all.i am absolutely beside myself and have noticed that when i try to explain thi to my friends and family [not that i can very well} but they look at me like i am lying,do any of you get that feeling? my friend suggested i join a message board that it can be very helpful,so thats what i am doing,please give me some advice.....

2. PVLady

PVLady New Member

Welcome to the board. Many people and doctors do not feel fibromyalgia is "progressive". In fact, many of us here have taken steps that resulted in dramatic improvements in our conditions.

Fibromyalgia is a diagnosis after every other cause of your symptoms is ruled out. If it is fibromyalgia only, there are many things you can do to get better. If you keep reading and sharing here, you will learn alot.

Most improvements are through "trial and error" as to what will help you. Stress reduction, pain management, diet, dietary supplements, sleep etc.

You did not get sick overnight and will not get better that quick, however I do believe with your best efforts
    it is very possible to achieve a remission.

Many here have, including myself. Two years ago I was sooooo sick and practically housebound. I found a good doctor to treat pain (I rarely have flares anymore). I am on a medication to control pain (Subutex), Ambien 5 mg for sleep, Tylenol Gel Caps and Ultram for pain.