Hi I'm a Newbie! Does anyone know about Acute Pancreatitis?

Discussion in 'General Health & Wellness' started by CandyJane, Jan 1, 2005.

1. CandyJane

CandyJane New Member

Hi Everybody,

I'm new to the Health Message Board as I am usually on the Alzheimer's one since my mothe has this disease.

However my dad has just been diagnosed with Acute Pancreatitis and has been suffering with terrible pain.

They also found another polyp on his esophagus and are awaiting the results of the biopsy even though the polyp will be removed either way.

My dad's Lipase count is 420 and the normal range for this I was told should be between 114-286.

The doctor also gave him what is called a Prev Pac which consists of Lansoprazole, Clarithromycin, and Amoxicillin.

These meds were helping him greatly with the pain but was given a supply that would last 14 days only at a cost of $300.00. This supply has now run out and the night before last my dad woke up again with the terrible pains.

He has been going through a battery of tests and are awaiting all the reports but the he tells me the doctor seems most concerned about the Pancreas.

If anyone knows what COULD be the cause of the acute pancratitis I would very much appreciate your input.

I know a lot of the acid reflux etc. that he has been having is due to the fact that he has been very depressed with my mother having to go into a nursing home with alzheimer's disease, but know from the results of some of the tests that it involves much more than that,

Thank you for anyone who may be able to give me some input. Since I don't live close enough to him to go to the doctor's office with him haven't been able to ask the doctor more about this. As he is getting elderly am afraid he may not be asking enough questions.

Nice joining you all here.

CandyJane
  2. mmrn

mmrn New Member

Hi CandyJane,