Hi, I'm new to the message board

Discussion in 'Caregivers' started by patg47, Apr 1, 2003.

1. patg47

patg47 New Member

New member that just has become a caregiver for my 81 year old mother in stage 2-3 of Alzheimers. Already I have found information that has helped--I thought maybe I was "losing it" myself, but seems what I'm going through is perfectly normal. I have recently moved her from her home of 21 + years to my hometown, and should have done it sooner. The move coupled with the Alzheimers has created some real problems at her age. Just knowing there are others I can communicate with with my fears and anxieties has helped a lot. God bless each and every one of you. Pat in Texas
  2. lbd

lbd New Member

I worked in a nursing home. I saw too much. The move you spoke of will be an adjustment for her. But then, even if she is home- she will ask you to take her home. I don't mean to seem cruel or hard, but, Alzheimers patients DO NOT SUFFER as much as other elderly people. Please remember that. I know you are worried about her and have reason to be- do not let it take over your life (as I did) Most of the time, she will be in a happy place. So, at that time, be happy with her. All you concerns and worries will not change her. Good Luck, Linda bd
  3. pepprockk

pepprockk New Member

Welcome to the message board, I don't know if you've noticed, but there is a separate board for Alzheimer's and we have a great group of people who really care about each other. If you post your message there, you will get more people to respond to you.