Hi there! I'm a newbie... and I'm confused!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by nickbeth, Feb 5, 2003.

1. nickbeth

nickbeth New Member

Well, just got dx FMS/CFIDS/possible MCS last week, and the high of finally knowing what the issue is is wearing off. So I actually found a doctor who seems to know what he is talking about and doesn't act like I'm crazy or just looking to not work or try to con him out of narcotics. Seriously. What is it that makes these people think that we are somehow deciding to get this sick?

ANYWAY. I was on amitriptylene and desipramene last year (10 mg/day had me hallucinating bugs on me in the shower), xanax (which I liked a little TOO much, if you catch my drift), neurontin (aka gabapentin) for three months, which sent me into a crash an hour after taking it, Vioxx for several months, and although I liked it, I was up to three times the recommended dose and it wasn't cutting it for pain anymore, so they switched me to toradol, and I had an allergic reaction (hives for a week!), so now they don't want to give me any antidepressants (which is OK by me!) or NSAIDs other than Advil and Tylenol with a gravol when I need it for pain, Imovane and L-Tryptophan for sleeping at night.
    Any other recommendations? Anyone tried Orudis SR?

The other really confusing thing is the diet and supplements issue. Some say eat for your blood type, avoiding key foods, some say cut out all dairy, wheat, animal protein and citrus fruit (which leaves rice, veggies, melons and berries....hmmm not going to sell that to the kids), and I saw on another site to avoid multivitamins... but nobody says WHY?

Also, what kinds of alternative therapies massage/accupuncture/herbals work/don't work for you?

Thanks for taking the time!

[This Message was Edited on 02/05/2003]
  2. lou2

lou2 New Member

hey there!
    In terms of drug advice i can't give any as i don't take medication.........(i have FMS/CFS)