high blood pressure

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by ckk, Sep 19, 2005.

1. ckk

ckk New Member

well, went to my doctor today, just for a check up for bronchitis and i have high blood pressure again, so they are watching it, they asked if i was interested in quiting smoking. i said yes. sooooooo, here we go. i have to quit. i gotta be honest guys, i am really scared. i mean this is my lifeline. i get mad, i smoke, i get upset, i smoke, you get the idea, i have been doing it for 17 years! i dont know if i can do it. i am not sure if i want to quit 100%, ya know? i mean i know i should for my health and my children and all around i just dont know if i can. i just lost a bunch of weight and i am scared i will gain it all back! well, she gave me a prescription and i start on it tomorrow so here it goes..........
    ckk
  2. cjcookie

cjcookie New Member

experience with quitting but if you need to vent, we're here to listen. This is the most important thing you could do.
  3. ckk

ckk New Member

thank u for your support, i have a very strong feeling i am going to need lots of it! i really appreciate it.
    ckk
  4. jaltair

jaltair New Member

I stopped smoking about 11 years ago after I started having some bronchial asthma type problems. I tried several times before finally "doing it." There are so many factors tied to smoking that you have to unravel what seems to be a messed up ball of yarn. What really helped me was a book that I got that was an "elimination" process. I tried to think of the name of that darned book the other day and couldn't! The medication that the doctor's prescribing should help you. That along with the following should help you be successful.

The process works by gradually stopping things that are emotionally / habitually tied to smoking. The way it worked, as I recall, was: