Hip pain when walking and at rest?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by kytriplets, Apr 5, 2006.

1. kytriplets

kytriplets New Member

I'm new to the FM world and I have a question. My daily source of terrible pain involves the sides of my hips. One side is worse than the other. It aches when I'm at rest, sitting. It REALLY hurts when I'm standing or walking.

Sometimes I wonder if it bursitis instead of FM on my hips. Does anyone else have bad hip pain when walking and at rest?
  2. pemaw54

pemaw54 New Member

The FM is worse on my right side. Some say their left or all over. Yes, my hips hurt sooo bad especially if I sit in one place too long. They also hurt if I do too much in my water arobics class or walk too far. If I didnt before, welcome to the board.

Suzette
  3. Shananegans

Shananegans New Member

Is where my troubles started. I cannot lay on it, lean on it or anything without pain. And I've had all the tests done, XRays, MRI's and they (doctors) have found nothing, so they say nothing can be done. Also when walking my left hip makes this terrible popping sound and has been known to slip slightly out of place, but of course "nothing is wrong"... you'll find that you hear that alot in the coming years of dealing with fibro... or atleast I have heard that alot. I do hope it's different for you.
    Also, my mom has fibro and her hips are where most of the pain is too, tender to the touch, same thing... pain when walking, sitting, laying down... doesn't matter what she does, it still always hurts.

I have found with my left hip, that an ice pack does work to calm it down on occassion. Heat only makes it worse. Maybe try that to see if it helps the pain. Hope you feel better soon!

hugs,
    shananegans
  4. EllenComstock

EllenComstock New Member