HOLIDAYS, FRIENDS AND OVER-COMMITTING

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by CarolynAnne, Nov 16, 2005.

1. CarolynAnne

CarolynAnne New Member

Does anyone else feel overwhelmed with the holiday and committments to friends and family? This is my first year with CFIDS.

I am curious how you are handling invitations to get togethers/parties/holiday celebrations/family obligations - do you respond yes and hope for the best? I know I should think of my health first, but I dont want to offend anyone.

I am getting myself sick over this. My weekend calendar is full throught the end of the year and I am getting myself worked up - knowing that Saturdays and Sunday I rest up so that I can work Monday - Friday. I know that if I keep up this pace, I will be in trouble. HELP....

2. sami

sami New Member

NO!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
  3. Bailey-smom

Bailey-smom New Member

A couple years ago I started to set my own pace and make my own rules.

My parents divorced when I was in high school so we have 2 sets of grandparents to visit there and my in-laws. My in-laws are unbelieveably not understanding - they feel that Christmas night we HAVE to go to Great-Grandpa & Grandma's and find a separate day to go to the in-laws as well.

I finally put my foot down last year and said - I am having Christmas at my house- everyone will come to US this year. If you would like to come you are welcome after 11:00 am because we are spending the morning with our children. Bring such and such please.

We had a great time & I was very relaxed! I know that there are many that can not handle that type of thing because of the pain, etc. but you must find something that works for you or you will go insane!!!

Holidays are supposed to be a time of cheer and spending time with those you love - if that is what you want to do. No one said you have to do a million things in 3 days:) lol Find what you are comfy with so you, too, can enjoy yourself.