How CFS/FMS Affect Our Sense of Self and Our Intimate Relationships

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by krdavis, Jan 27, 2009.

1. krdavis

krdavis New Member

Hello all,

I am an assistant professor of communication, and I am working on a research project that examines how CFS and FMS influence our identities (sense of self) and our intimate relationships with family members. At this point, I am still working in the early stages of my project. I really want to give a voice to all who suffer from these devastating disorders. I too have CFS and FMS. Fortunately, I am not completely bedridden, but I have been in the past. I know how CFS especially has affected my identity. Before I finally found out what was wrong with me, I thought I was lazy, pathetic, irresponsible, etc. Those feelings can destroy one's self-worth! Anyway, I would love to hear from others. I would like to know how these disorders have affected the way you see yourself and feel about yourself. I'd also like to know how CFS & FMS have affected your relationships with spouses/partners, children, siblings, parents, extended family, friends, and the like.

I would be forever grateful to hear from all of you. Thank you so much!

Peace and Light,

2. ironspine

ironspine New Member

Hi Kristin,
    Glad to see you are doing this, and that you are able to!
    I always feel like I'm being lazy and pathetic. I am one who can't stand to sit still if there's something that needs to be done. I had to quit working because of FMS; my boss was frankly a bitch. She kept questioning every little thing I did, taking away any self confidence I ever had. So, I quit. I had gone to school for my job (I'm a Master Florist) to earn my certificate, but it hangs on a wall, useless.
    I won't apply for any other job, because I don't know how I will feel on any given day.