How do I get support/understanding from family?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by TJC, Feb 18, 2006.

1. TJC

TJC New Member

Hi,

I am new to this message board and also newly diagnosed this week with fibromyalgia. I have been having a whole lot of problems and pain for months now. I don't "want" to have a disease, but in a way I am glad of the diagnosis because at least I know that it is not in my head. My question is how do I make my family, in particular my husband, understand what I am going through?

For example, last night we were talking on the phone (he works nights) and we got into a huge argument. To explain things as quickly as possible, during the week I am like a single mom to our 3 children because he is a truck driver. I take care of everything around the house and that the kids do. I also work 20 hours a week and go to college. Six months ago we bought a new house and moved....of which I did the packing and getting ready and moved quite a bunch of boxes myself. We also kept our old house and are trying to fix it up to rent. Needless to say, paying two mortages for longer than we had wanted, our money is tight right now.

Again, to shorten things, our fight was basically that I don't work enough, that he is ticked off because I haven't been doing more with getting the other house ready to rent, that I don't do anything, and that maybe I ought to just drop out of school (I am working on my dream of being a nurse) and get a full-time job because at least the money will contribute more to the family than what I am contributing now! Then, as I tried to point out all that I do that he never sees because he is not here during the week and how it is causing me pain with my FM, he says to me...."Oh that's pretty crappy. So now you are a cripple and can't do anything?" I have never done this before, but I had to hang up on him. I was so mad and hurt that it just would not have been nice to say anything else.