How do you learn to meditate ??

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by TwinMa, May 7, 2006.

1. TwinMa

TwinMa New Member

I see many posts on how meditation really helps people. It seems to help with relaxation, pain reduction, sleep improvement, general sense of well being, etc.

For those of you who DO meditate, I have three questions:

1) What benefits do you see from meditation?

2) How often do you do it? (and how long does it take?)

3) The big question: How did you start? Where did you learn to meditate? Classes, CD's, books? Any help would be appreciated!
  2. NyroFan

NyroFan New Member

TwinMa:

For me, books were the best. Your local library more than likely has them. Basically, some are all the same but put in different words.

It is a good way to get started.

nyrofan
  3. Adl123

Adl123 New Member

Hi,
    Well, I've been meditating for about 45 years, now, and I think it has really helped me. Although it is good to remember that one is always human, and will always have human frailties.

Here's how I would answer your questions:
    1. The benefits of meditation are immeasureable. It has helped me with stress, anger, sadness, letting go, forgiveness, and my health. It has also helped me know myself better, so that I can start to go past negative things in my life.

2. I meditate almost daily, and it takes anhywhere from 5 minutes to an hour. I meditate for different lengths of time, depending on circumstances. Usually, it is for about 20 minutes.

3. How to learn? Well, I think the best way is by personal instruction. But, not everyone has access to a teacher or a group, so other ways must be used. There are many books and tapes that help. Robert Gass has a tape called "Opening the Heart". It has a guided meditation on one side, and some simple hymns on the other. It is non-denominational.