How Helpful Has Acupuncture Been For You?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by TerriM, Feb 4, 2003.

1. TerriM

TerriM New Member

I keep getting suggestions to try acupuncture. I am going to try as soon as I get home (have been seeing drs at Vanderbilt). I keep hearing it is a great thing to do to aid you immune system imbalance. I've never tried it before and was wondering about others results. I am very hypersensitive to things, but have been told the surgical steel won't cause me a problem???? Thanks for any advice! Terri
  2. catgal

catgal New Member

Hi Terri~~I was born with life-threatening asthma/allergies and IBS. Have had FM/CFS for over 35 years. Later came osteo/psoriatic/rheumatoid arthritis. Two was ago was diagnosed with advanced degenerative disc disease.

Out of desperation, I went to a clinic in Oklahoma City that specializes in electro-acpuncture. I was initially terrified because I am phobic of needles. They did a history of all my ailments (recognized FM/CFS), and I started having electro-acpuncture every other day (there has to be a day in between treatments).

On my first session, I laid face down on the table, gritted my teeth, summoned all my courage, and told him I was ready for him to put the needles in. He already had. The sessions were 15 minutes. They also treated me with high quality Chinese herbs that were right for my system, along with 7.5 lortab.

The needles never did hurt, and I was able to turn the electrical current clear up to max. Some places don't offer the electro-acupuncture--just regular needles that they twist around--but the electrical current going down into the needles at the precise points was amazing.

I noticed no improvement until the 3rd week--and then I noticed such incredible improvement in EVERYTHING that I no longer needed the lortab. I couldn't believe that I woke up that morning of the 3rd week with no pain anywhere.