how long does depression last?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Droste, Dec 26, 2002.

1. Droste

Droste New Member

I was just wondering how long that depression has lasted for otherpeople// I have been battling depression for many months now, and i was wondering if it something that i am not doing.. if i should be over it by now.. i am on medication, but i still battle very bad days.. am i a lost cause? thanks for your input.. Droste
  2. phenom

phenom New Member

hi droste,

i have battled depression since 1996...nearly losing it a number of times. each person is different. some times 'getting over it' is not an option. if you are wanting to get better, maybe try alternative therapies and also complementary therapies with your meds (counselling, meditation, hypnosis etc)as meds alone do not get to the cause of the depression, rather, they just treat the symptom (the depression itself). hope that answers your question.

phenom
  3. JaciBart

JaciBart Member

I just started on it about a week & a half or 2 weeks ago and I really notice the difference, I was having a lot of days where I was not suicidal but was definitely wondering why I was alive.

I definitely suggest giving it a try, I do 150 mgs zoloft too but it does not fix the whole problem.

Jaci
  4. ssMarilyn

ssMarilyn New Member

On if it's clinical depression, or self-inflicted depression, which by the way, is about 95% of all depressed people. Clinical depression can go on for a lifetime, whereas self-inflicted depression can stop as soon as a person learns they're doing it to themselves and takes the steps to improve their way of thinking and their lives. It's just so hard to say which one you have. I really feel for you if it's indeed clinical depression - you've got a tough row to hoe, but there still is alot of hope and you can eventually get back to feeling like a normal person!

Marilyn :)
  5. Mikie

Mikie Moderator