How long does it take for the appeal decision to be made normally

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by MssDarla, Jun 19, 2006.

1. MssDarla

MssDarla New Member

Ok I just finished filing an appeal online to SS. I have to send in some paperwork too.

How long does it take for the appeal decision to be made normally?

It took from Nov/05 to june/06 to be denied the first time.

Meanwhile I will try to find a lawyer I guess. Or should I wait for another denial first?

Thanks

MssDarla
  2. onnaroll

onnaroll New Member

hi darla

I waited for my sec denial, but if you have a doc letter saying that your pain sever enough to keep you from working. and that you cant work due to thies disabilities, then i would probably go ahead and get a lawyer. Sorry im not much help. but i can tell you theres a long waiting period right now for ss hearings.

wishing you the best of luck
    with you hearing onna

ps ive been fighting to get mine for almost six yrs
    uggggggg, i just wish sometime soon, that the medical community will be able to document and see chronic pain with fibromyalgia, it still blows me away i guess that a person can suffer so much painnnnnnnnnn with this and yet they cant see it.. .............
  3. MssDarla

MssDarla New Member

I am so sorry it is taking you so long. I thought there were different steps of appeals, and it still is taking you 6 yrs.

That is unreal. What step are you at? Have you been to court yet?

All of this is so stressful, isn't it?
  4. wildflowers2

wildflowers2 New Member

***GET A Lawyer NOW**** do not wait.....
    Usually it will take 2 years. Or longer.

Lawyers take the first 5,000.00. of your back earning off the top.
    Thats just the way it goes by law.

So , you dont have to pay out of pocket except for getting your medical records which is usually $22.50. per request.

I applied lasy MAy,05, got denied that AUg 05, and got the lawyer a week after that. He told me it can take 2 years.