How long until Methotrexate will start working?

Discussion in 'General Health & Wellness' started by lindsay_bisby, May 18, 2010.

1. lindsay_bisby

lindsay_bisby New Member

Hello, I'm new to this whole autoimmune disease thing. I'm 19 years old and after months of seeking a diagnosis, have been told that I have an Undifinative Connective Tissue Disease that they believe will probably become full-blown Rheumatoid Arthritis and Lupus within the next few years. My rheumatolagist began me on Planqunil and Methotrexate injections recently and I am just wondering when I should start seeing any affect from these drugs. From what I understand, it will probably take around 8 weeks to start seeing any results from the Planqunil, but I don't really know much about Methotrexate yet. I took my first injection yesterday at the doctors office, and I will begin doing the injections myself next week (I'm super nervous!) but I am just curious what I should expect to see from this drug. I am already constantly fatigued and regularly have stomach upset, so I don't even know if I would be able to tell if those side-effects popped up! But I would just like to know what kind of relief to expect. I had good results from Humira (it hurt like the dickens going in though!) but for whatever reason, my rheumy things Methotrexate should provide the most relief.

Anyway, if someone could provide me any information, it would be greatly appreciated!

Thanks!
  2. TwoCatDoctors

TwoCatDoctors New Member