How many are men?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Jack3, Feb 8, 2007.

1. Jack3

Jack3 New Member

I have the misfortune of being a male. Doctors have been misdiagnosing me for 20 years thinking that a serious neck injury was the cause. (I think that set it all off)

I have every single symptom except
    painful menses
    the trigger points.

I am so frustrated. I figured out myself that I have this. (Before I got disabled I was a Paramedic) Now I am trying to convince my doctor that this is the primary cause of my "angina", IBS, Nausea, dizziness, pain and all the other stuff. My doctor is coming around, his latest treatment plans are to work on my sleeping.

Cant do anything for the pain as I am allergic to all the narcotics, can't take NSAIDS, have no meds I really can take to decrease the pain.....well prescription meds. ;)

They have had me on all sorts of medicines, that in the last 6 months, I have been able to stop taking many of them because I was misdiagnosed. That helped some to get rid of the side effects of them

So, Males pipe up. Do you find it is more difficult to get the doc to listen? How difficult do you find it to not be a functional "strong" male?
  2. Mini4Me

Mini4Me New Member

And welcome, Jack3!
    Mini
  3. Jack3

Jack3 New Member

Thanks, feeling pretty alone today. Been battling with bad depression for 2 weeks now. Now no sleep x 5 days. Doc just will not give me the label, treats me "as if you have fibro."

I have been labeled a drug abuser, alcoholic, hypochondriac, etc. Four vertabra have been fused in my neck, I have 3 more bulging disks. Can't take anything for pain, but must admit the fibro pain usually is not as bad as a pinched nerve root, sometimes....at least there are breaks with fibro.

Funny, I feel like all the posts I have read here. I have to find a support system. Rambling, not doing well today.
  4. lrgatplay

lrgatplay New Member

Definitely not alone. Just outnumbered.