How many of us are hermits?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by lumediluna, Aug 24, 2005.

1. lumediluna

lumediluna New Member

I tend to hermit - and stay home a lot. I don't like to go out to dinner, I would rather have delivery and eat at home. Maybe because I have an almost 2 year old and he can be REALLY loud at restaraunts - almost at the terrible 2's stuff - he wants everything on the tables.

I try and pin point why, because I used to be so outdoorsy, and I miss my old self. Do any of you have advice/suggestions on how to get motivated to get out of the house? I guess it is baby steps?

Now all I want to do is stay home! Are you like that too? If so, why is it for you?
  2. KMD90603

KMD90603 New Member

I find I really just have to push myself many days. I have CFIDS, but I also have a busy life and cannot afford to allow my disease to take over. I am a first year nursing student, I work part time, and I'm married with a 4-year old son. So, as you can tell, I've got alot on my shoulders. This being said, many days I really have to mentally prepare myself before leaving the house. My theory is that whether I'm at home laying around or out getting things accomplished, either way I'm going to feel sick so I might as well get things done.

It's not as easy as it sounds obviously, but what happens is you get into this cycle of not wanting to go out. After a while when i'm bedridden for a few days, once I end up feeling better it becomes a matter of just not wanting to do anything. And it's hard to break that cycle.

Hope this helps a bit.

Kim
  3. BLUEROSE7

BLUEROSE7 New Member

I too have become more of a hermit especially within the last year. Due to several things such as the severe Pain and Fatigue(my energy level is Horriable).