How many pills do I have to take?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by nibbernaaber, Dec 20, 2005.

1. nibbernaaber

nibbernaaber New Member

Hey all my name is nibbernaaber and I'm new to this board, I wish I was to fibromyalgia, but anyhow I am sure I'm not a pro like some of you here!

My question is for all of you who have tried all of the different drugs out there for the pain and problems.... Has anyone ever gotten off of them? Is there anything all natural that can be used instead? I have been on and off of different pills for 2 years now, usually 4 or 5 a night and I'm only 33 and as of now I take nortriptylin, prioxicam, topamax, and varapamil. I guess I wonder if I will be doing the pill thing for the rest of my life, and if so how good is it for me? I have heard you can turn fibromyalgia around or reverse it, but that's about all I've heard, does anyone have any other news they can share on this subject or know know anything about this?

Thanks So Much
    Nibbernaaber.....
  2. Pianowoman

Pianowoman New Member

This is a complicated question. It depends on why you are on your meds and if they are helping.
    Some people have found that they can treat Fibro more naturally but it has taken many months or even years to research and test certain products. Some things work for one person but not the other.
    The first thing you should remember is never go off your drugs without being supervised by your Doctor. Usually, you have to taper the doses. Before you do it, have a plan for your next steps.
    Spend some time here reading posts and find out what others have been doing. That will be a helpful place to start.

Good Luck
    Kathy.
  3. matthewson

matthewson New Member

Welcome to the board! You will find a lot of valuable information here. There are people here who only take vitamins and supplements, ones who take meds and others who take both. It is kind of trial and error as to what will work for you.