How often have you needed to adjust pain meds???

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Suzan, Sep 9, 2003.

1. Suzan

Suzan New Member

I am new to using meds for pain, I have been taking vicoden since November 2002...and in the first months, one pill would do a pretty good job of alleviating most of my pain. Now it seems that I more often need two at a time. My doc isn't concerned at all about how many I am taking at this point. But, I am wondering how long this drug will continue to work and at what point might it be wise to change to something else? What is your experience on this...and did the next drug you try work for a long term?
  2. Dara

Dara New Member

you because I want to see some of the replys. I also have been on the same meds for several years now and they sure aren't working like they used to. One thing I don't understand about my doctor is that he prescribes the 5/500 Vicodin up to six per day. Since the tylenol isn't good for us I would think he would prescribe the Narco which has twice the amount of pain medication in it but about 2/3 less the tylenol. I wonder if because it's a stronger medication it requires more paperwork??? anyone know?? Wish Madwolf were here, he'd know..

Dara
  3. Susan07

Susan07 New Member

I'm wondering the same thing. Hope we hear from someone. It seems odd to me too how much tylenol is in vicoden, what is it for? If the tylenol wasn't working for me, then why give me more.
  4. IndigoSC

IndigoSC New Member