How to cope with the pain

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by autoharp15, Jun 6, 2008.

1. autoharp15

autoharp15 New Member

Hi I am new to this group. I have been searching for a support group for Fibro on line since there is none in my area. I am having a really rotten Fibro week with increased pain and bone tiredness. I am a nurse and frankly I just dont have time to be ill. I am taking a large amount motrin to just lessen the pain enough to keep going. Has anyone out there tried Lyrica ? Does it work? How about side effects?
  2. Janalynn

Janalynn New Member

There are a lot of people here for support - lots of great info and empathy.
    Many people have tried Lyrica - some with great results, some it didn't work for.
    I couldn't take it - am currently on Topamax, pain medication and muscle relaxants.

I know what you mean about not having time to be ill. I think we can all relate. We're all pretty much sick of it to be perfectly honest!
    You might use the search function and type in Lyrica if you want specific info on that- there are have been tons of posts on it.

Anyway- glad you found this site! Hope you'll post more - share your knowledge and experience as well as ask questions.
  3. marti_zavala

marti_zavala Member

I use malic acid 1200mg and magnesium 400-600mg for my fibro pain. I take Tramadol for my back issues.

I am not sure that Lyrica and Cymbalta are the best meds to take, there are others. They do seem to work but the side effects are really high.

For sleep, I use 5HTP 50mg, melatonin (300mcg), Valerian root 100mg.

I have heard great things about GABA in proving refreshing sleep. I am taking it but not sure yet. (the person who relayed this was taking GABA Calm and I am taking GABA).

Most folks cannot tolerate pharmaceuticals due to many issues - so lower doses are best.
  4. msbsgblue

msbsgblue Member

I keep both Umtram and Percocet, depending on how bad I on a particular day.