How's the holidays for you??

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by mrpain, Dec 8, 2006.

1. mrpain

mrpain New Member

Would like to know how most of you are doing with your illness during the holidays and this time of year? And is there any good advice??
  2. Hraby29

Hraby29 New Member

I was just diagnosed, so this is my first year dealing with this. I plan on hiding in my room. :} Actually I am just taking it slow and making sure that there is not a lot of confusion or stress. Doubt I will get through the holidays without it, but I can always hope. I have a two and three year old who don't understand why mama doesn't feel good at lot of the time and that is the hardest. I try to be as patient as I can and take a nap when I can sneak one in. Good luck!
  3. hugs4evry1

hugs4evry1 New Member

I think Stormy said it best....I just wanted to pop in and say hi. It's been awhile since I've seen you posting.

Happy Holiday Hugs,

Nancy B
  4. Slayadragon

Slayadragon New Member

My husband and I used to go out of town to visit my relatives over Christmas. My grandmother was still running a flower shop at the time, and Christmas is the busiest time of the year. Everyone in the family was supposed to help, plus we tried to do the regular Christmas stuff. The helping part was stressful enough, and the fact that everyone in my family also was stressed increased my emotional stress level far beyond what I could tolerate.

I finally came up with a solution: we bought a condo in Florida and made an announcement that my husband worked hard at his job as a professor all year and needed a good break between fall and winter quarters. This was absolutely true, of course.

So now we totally skip Christmas. One year we got ambitious and made a gingerbread house. Sometimes we buy a pointsettia plant.