Husband had a question today I will pose to you!

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by tedebear, Aug 19, 2003.

1. tedebear

tedebear New Member

Have any of you had continual treatments from the pain doc?
    My husband asked me today if this was going to be treatments for the rest of my life to ease the pain. I have been getting various methods of pain treatments for 3 years now and my husband gets discouraged because he doesn't see me getting better. What he fails to understand is that the treatments are temporary but allow me up to 6 months relief each time.
    Anyone else go through this .... treatments and how do you explain this method of relief to your significant other?
    Thanks. SOFT TEDDY HUGS.
  2. healing

healing New Member

I have been receiving intensive treatment for about 10 years. My husband fussed but now understands that this is all that keeps me going. What changed him was that I insisted he go to my doctors with me: my DO, who provides my regular acupuncture/physical therapy/herbal and homeopathic remedies; and my rheumy, who provides ABX and took about an hour to explain my diseases (FM and reactive arthritis) and my disease processes to my husband. He took it all in and, although he really hasn't said much about it, he has been much more tolerant about the expense and inconvenience -- AND he has been truly thoughtful about how I'm feeling on my latest ABX therapy.

So take him with you to the doctor and let the doctor do all the talking. Hope this works for you.
  3. Susan07

Susan07 New Member