Husband won't let me be assertive with rude people

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by baanders, Sep 3, 2008.

1. baanders

baanders New Member

I've been using a wheelchair for 3 years.

Taking care of me has got to be hard on my husband. This fms has been hard on us. It has been doubly hard on my husband (making meals, shopping, cleaning, pushing me in the wheelchair, loss of friends and uncaring family on his side, limited intimacy).

My husband is a good husband, as you can see. However, whenever someone makes fun of me in the wheelchair or if someone doesn't open the doors for us, I will assert myself. It makes my husband angry. He doesn't feel the rejection. He thinks I am un-lady like to assert myself.

And my neighbors treat me like I'm mentally retarted. There is already so much backstabbing in this community. It is not Christ-like and it hurts me because I've been too trusting.

Thank you and hugs to you all :)

[This Message was Edited on 09/03/2008]
  2. 3gs

3gs New Member

Becca I'am so discusted some days on how rude people are I wish I could hit them upside the head with a two by four!!!

It is shocking in the day and age with all the awarness we supposedly have that people would make fun of you.

I grew up being teased(had polio)in the 1950's and I can not tolerate bullying or making fun of people.

Just remember for every knothead there is some who does still know how to help or assist.

I too am a very trusting person and finally learned that now a days sadly thats not such a good thing. Dump the toxic people in your life you don't need them.

Hugs to you and just roll over their toes with your chair!!!!!!!
  3. gapsych

gapsych New Member

Soooo sorry you are going through this. It has to be hard.

People can be so rude.