husbands annoyed

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by janie4444, Aug 20, 2005.

1. janie4444

janie4444 New Member

What do you girls do when your husband gets annoyed with your illness?
  2. GARY700

GARY700 New Member

Were not all girls out here. But i'm very lucky to have a very understanding wife. One with more patience than I have. lol GARY
  3. abbylee

abbylee New Member

I just don't pay any attention to him. I act as if everything is great no matter how annoying HE is, and usually he'll get over his frustration with my symptoms.

I've been sick since I was 11 (I'm 54), and I've known my husband since I was 10. We've talked a lot over the years about everything.

I hope I can explain this - I've never tried before, so please let me know if I'm not clear.

We handle my illness this way:

There is me and then there is my illness. We treat them as 2 entities. Neither controls the other.

If a trigger point flares up, for instance, and I can hardly move for several days we focus on working on the trigger point (and whatever else may go along with it) as though it were a project. We massage it or use heat or ice on it, and we may talk of little else while it's flared and when it goes down, we forget it and concentrate on each other.

I hope this makes sense. We try to treat this sickness as just another project we're working on. Just like maintaining a house, parts get worn down from time to time so we must be ever willing and ready to work with them, then forget about it when it's over.

Over the years there have been times when all I could do was lie in the bed and cry. A few times I stayed in bed crying for a week or more. When my husband wasn't working, he ran the house AND he looked after me.

And in return, when he's had to have various surgeries or when he's been sick, I've looked after him.

Obviously I've been sick a lot more than he has but when I tell him that I feel guilty about it, he says that he's not keeping score.

abbylee