I AM A NEWBIE,I'M GLAD TO MEET YOU ALL. HAVE TAKEN NEURONTIN FOR

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by PUTTER, Jan 1, 2003.

1. PUTTER

PUTTER New Member

MY NEUROLOGIST STARTED ME ON NEURONTIN FIVE YRS AGO FOR CERVICAL NEUROPATHY. IF IT WORKED FOR ME IT WOULD KEEP ME AWAY FROM AN APPOINTMENT WITH A NEUROSURGEON. IT WORKED JUST FINE. (I FEEL FIBRO PAINS IN MY NECK BUT THAT IS ALL PART OF THE TRIGGER POINTS.) I STARTED WITH 300MG TABLETS 3X'S A DAY, AND SHE WORKED ME SLOWLY UP TO THE PRESENT-
    800MG 3X'S A DAY. 2400 MG A DAY.
    THE ONLY SIDE AFFECT THAT I HAVE IS BEING DROWSY AFTER LUNCH, SO I JUST SIT AND RELAX A WHILE,MAYBE NOD OFF, BUT I DON'T MIND THAT.....
    I WAS DX WITH FMS AND CFS 2 YEARS AGO,AND THAT IS WHY SHE UPPED THE MGS OF THE NEURONTIN.
    WISHING YOU ALL A HAPPY NEW YEAR,
    PUTTER
  2. Annette2

Annette2 New Member

Nice to meet you. My doctor just started me on Neurontin for pain in my hands, possibly carpal tunnel syndrome. I take 300 mg. at bedtime. You'll find this board a great place to meet people and get a lot of information. I hope you have a happy and healthy New Year!

Annette2
  3. PAT

PAT New Member

I am glad to hear more people talk about Neurotonin. I was so afraid to try it. I just started it a little over a week ago. I am on 300 mg at night, and have found I must take it early in the eve. (about 7pm) so I can still get up at 7 am. Otherwise, I am TOO sleepy to get up.I have 5 kids and cannot go around sleepy all day! I sure am sleeping more soundly at night. Haven't noticed any change in my pain though.

What wonder is this; when I increase the dose as directed, do I HAVE to take them during the day? It's time to up it to two a day. If I take it in the morning, I don't think I can handle it. It makes me feel drunk! I ran TWO stoplights the other morning, still feeling the effects of it! Do the side effects subside any??