I am a newbie with hand pain, any suggestions?

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by jesolomon, Jan 2, 2003.

1. jesolomon

jesolomon New Member

I have at times debilatating hand pain. Makes life complicating with 2 kiddos and full time school (with note taking!) Help. Does anyone have suggestions?
  2. marcus1243

marcus1243 New Member

available to you, it's just a question of which one works best. Choose from:

Heat treatment (rice bags/wheatie bags etc)
    Massage
    Magnesium supplementation
    Acupucture
    NSAID drugs (Ibuprofen etc)

I suspect a combination of two of the above might help. Depends if it's neuropathic pain or arthritic in origin. If neuropathic (more likely), I'd suggest the wrist massage and NSAID combination.

Good luck!
    -Marcus

3. karen55

karen55 New Member

carpal tunnel syndrome? That could be a cause also. I have that, osteo arthritis and FMS. My hands hurt all of the time, sometimes it's not so bad, and some days I can barely use them. I bought a paraffin spa to use for my hands. You keep dipping them in the wax until you have a fairly thick glove of wax. You can wrap a towel or plastic bag over them and leave on for 15 minutes. The deep, moist heat helps, although it's a temporary fix. I use mine pretty much daily, particularly during the week when I work.

By the way, welcome to the board!
    [This Message was Edited on 01/02/2003]
  4. pam_d

pam_d New Member