I am extremely glad to see someone in my field ...

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by Plantscaper, Feb 3, 2003.

1. Plantscaper

Plantscaper New Member

stand up to his colleagues and speak the truth..Dr. Alan Gurwitt, M.D. wrote an article on the "Morbid Fascination with Psychiatric Morbidity" with regard to CFS/FM...Whenever, the medical profession doesn't know what causes a medical problem, it tends to become "psychologized", and I was so afraid my profession would get this disorder(I was a psychologist), and therefore, would not get to the real causations. At one time, Mutiple Sclerosis was called "Hysterical Paralysis", and there are examples like this throughout history.. Thank you, Dr. Gurwitt for pointing out that, yes, there is a big distinction between Chronic Fatigue and CFS and yes, we do have a lousy name. Thank you for pointing out that there has been a lot of research pointing far away from psychological causation and towards the physiological systems of the body..not that there is any thing wrong with having psychological problems..let's just find out where this illness belongs and how to treat it effectively..it couldn't happen in the psychology field as the primary causative factor... I hope this will filter down to the rest of the world at large...`Thank you for having the integrity, the foresight and for standing up to your colleagues and pointing out the inaccuracy of their methods and, seeing what should be apparent at this point.. it belongs in the realm of people who don't take the easy way out, who search, and search for the "true" answers...See (ONE DOCTOR SPEAKS OUT AGAINST THE "MORBID FASCINATION WITH PSYCHIATRIC MORBIDITY" WITH REGARD TO CHRONIC FATIGUE SYNDROME AND FIBROMYALGIA)ImmuneSupport.com AMELIA
    [This Message was Edited on 02/03/2003]
    [This Message was Edited on 02/03/2003]
  2. Mikie

Mikie Moderator