I am new and this is my story

Discussion in 'Fibromyalgia Main Forum' started by ms1guitar, Apr 16, 2003.

1. ms1guitar

ms1guitar New Member

Hello, my name is Betty I am 49 years old, I have been in pain for atleast the past 15 years.I hope I don't bore you, I feel like I am complaining, but I really could use some hope. I have always been a person that stays busy. I am a professional musician,and a merchandiser, well, I use to be a merchandiser, I had that job for the past 9 years, but I had to quit this past june, because I was in too much pain, I have burning pain in my Feet, my lower back and right side all the way down to my ankle.I have degenerative disc disease,and sciatica pain.I have days when I don't feel stiff, and tired, and sleepy, when I can clean my house a little. I have always kept a clean house, but I can no longer keep it the way I want it.Most Days, I just want to sleep. I have Gained 100 lbs in the last 2 years. I am so heavy I can't stand it anymore,I don't want to be around friends etc this way. I think I eat because I feel so awful.I feel old.There are days that I can't bend my hands,my hands and feet are swollen,I have numbness in my toes.It hurts to write. when I press down, my thumb area is in intense pain.I have points all over my body when touched that burn with pain.If I do push myself to get things done, I am so stiff I have to pull my leg up with my sock to put my shoes on, and my body feels hot ,and I feel sick, like I have the flu.the next day after pushing myself, I am exhausted. I sleep in my recliner, all night.I never wake up feeling rested, I wake up stiff hurting and trying to get my pain pills in me and working, which they don't very well anymore, I am afraid to tell my DR my pills aren't working, because I am afraid he will say if they aren't working, then you don't need them, and then take them away from me.I have applied for disability and social security.I get regular disability right now, $50.00 a week. I have no stre